Mitch Duval Crowned Club Champion at the Jets End of Season Gala


Unley Mercedes’ successful 2019 season was formally celebrated and brought to a close last Sat Night at the annual End of Season Gala held at The Arkaba Top Room, courtesy of The Hurley Group, parent company of our Hospitality Partner The TA Hotel.

In attendance was Federal Member for Boothby, Nicole Flint, State Member for Waite, Sam Duluk, Mayor of The City of Mitcham and Club Patron, Heather Holmes-Ross, along with many sponsors, Life Members and a crowd of 180 players, partners, family and supporters.

Hosted by Ben Hook from The Sunday Mail, the audience was treated to highlights packages from the playing season commentated by Tom Rehn of Channel Nine, in addition to presentations of individual and club awards.

President David Heaslip reflected on the successes of 2019; The Reserves and C Grade Premierships, The Adelaide Footy league “Club Championship” Award for the best performed club in the amateur league across all divisions (The award is only in its 11th year with The Jets taking it out for the second time, the first being 2012), promotion to Division 1 in 2020 courtesy of the A Grade Grand Final appearance, and the ongoing excellent management of the club, both in respect to footy operations and off field support.

He also referred the ongoing success of the Junior arm of The Club, paying particular note to the first female Premiership brought home by the U14 Girls, and the record 25 teams which took to the field this year. A credit indeed to the volunteer parents who make it happen, led this year by Jo Wright. Jo has filled the role vacated by Brenton Milewski admirably, and her team continue to enhance our club’s reputation more broadly.

The player awards saw the A Grade Best and Fairest (and coincidentally “Mark of the Year”) going to Mitch Duval (pictured) for his stellar season. Mitch is the epitome of The Jets spirit, his courageous approach to the game saw him recover from a sidelined 2018 season, thanks to a ruptured ACL, to dominate his position this year. His anointing as Club Champion was a very popular result.

Other awards and acknowledgements presented on the night:

Club Person of the Year – Jeremy Pickering

Emerging Talent Award (Best player under 21) – Riley Faehrmann

Life Member Inductee – Brenton Westell

A Grade

Runner Up B&F – Anthony Skara
Leading Goal Kicking Award – Simon Munn (38 goals)
Most Consistent – Josh Stevens
Most Improved – Jack Holliday
Best Team Man – Liam Ryan


Best & Fairest – Sam Ploenges
Runner Up B & F – tie between Michael Khabbaz & Tom Rodger
Most Consistent – Jacob Earl
Most Improved – Alistair Salt
Best Team Man – James “Joc” O’Connell
Coach’s Trophy – Will Batty

C Grade

Best & Fairest – Tommy Cronin
Runner Up B & F – James Mead
Most Consistent – Nick Pietraroia
Best Team Man – Jake Fox
Best Finals Player – Giuseppe “Joey” Vellotti
Coach’s Trophy – Murray Agostino

All in all a fabulous night celebrating a truly wonderful year. Much kudos to David Petch and his organizing team for putting on another great event, the standard of which reflects The Club’s ongoing commitment to excellence.

Everyone is invited to attend next year’s event on Sat 10 October 2020 – so don’t book any weddings, overseas trips or elective surgery for that date next year.

For some imagery from Saturday night, please follow the links below…

Links to 2019 Highlights Package:

Links to event photo’s (Facebook):
Red Carpet –
Award Winners –
Crowd and Venue –


Arkaba Hotel

Comments --